Coming in hotter than Kayne’s opinion of Kayne, the fifth annual Gold Coast Music Awards, which took place at an illustrious beachside event at Surfers Paradise last night, crowned six winners across nine categories, including an announcement that homegrown pop sensation, Amy Shark, would be the city’s first Hall Of Fame inductee after taking out the prestigious Artist Of The Year award for the third year running.

“I feel so honoured to be recognised by the Gold Coast Music Awards, by my home town and by the community that stood by me from the very beginning,” said Amy, who won three of her four nominated categories, including Artist Of The Year, Live Act Of The Year and Release Of The Year for hit album, Love Monster.

“Thank you so much for these incredible awards and for inducting me as your first artist in the Gold Coast Music Hall Of Fame. It’s such an exciting time for the Gold Coast and for music in this country, there are so many amazing bands and artists coming through the GC – it really feels so special to be part of the artist community.”

Hot on her heels was rising star San Mei, who took homeBreakout Artist Of The Year and Song Of The Year for indie-rock favourite, Wonder, while Wolfmother keyboard player and acclaimed multi-instrumentalist, Ian Peres, nabbed Musician Of The Year. Praised for his innovative and experimental dance and music style, YT Dingo reeled in Video Of The Year for Shipwrecked, while newcomers Vinnie’s Dive snapped up Venue Of The Year for their commitment to showcasing emerging acts.

It wasn’t just local industry judges dishing out the Skull Murphy trophy’s though, with fans dubbing heartfelt harpist, ELSKA, as the People’s Choice Award Queen.

“Our 2019 Award winners and finalists are a true testament to the creative gold that continues to grow and emerge from this City,” said Gold Coast Music Awards director, Samantha Morris.

“It was such a close call for the judges in many of the categories. Amy Shark, San Mei, Ian Peres and YT Dingo are all very deserving winners and we’re especially thrilled to announce that Amy will be the very first artist to be inducted into the Gold Coast Music Hall of Fame.”

Amy Shark’s induction into the Hall of Fame will take place in 2020, with the GCMAs team currently consulting City of Gold Coast and industry partners to determine what a hall of fame might look like.

“It’s history-in-the-making with our Hall Of Fame honour sure to become one of the most prestigious accolades musicians strive for throughout their career,” said Mayor Tom Tate.

“The depth of musical talent in our city has exploded in the last decade and I don’t envy the judges who will cast their eyes over future potential hall-of-famers. Congrats to Amy and watch this space for rising stars like San Mei.”

Performances by San Mei, Casey Barnes and Peach Fur topped off the night, and simultaneously kicked off the free, four-day Surfers Paradise LIVE festival which features performances by iconic Australian artists this weekend, including The Living End, Hoodoo Gurus, Thirsty Merc and more.

All in all, the 2019 Gold Coast Music Awards have set a high standard once more.


Hall Of Fame Inductee, Artist Of The Year, Live Act Of The Year, Release Of The Year | Amy Shark
Breakout Artist Of The Year, Song Of The Year | San Mei
Musician Of The Year | Ian Peres
Video Of The Year | YT Dingo
Venue Of The Year | Vinnie’s Dive
People’s Choice Award | ELSKA