Two years after coming together to make music, Brisbane alternative-rock trio Elba Lane have released their debut, 10 track album, Arctic, through Near Enough Records.

With Mitchell Smith (Guitar/Vocals), Kris Griffin (Bass), and Mitchell Blyth (Drums), Elba Lane have successfully managed to capture a live energy and create an atmosphere that resonates with the stories of their songs.

Introducing the band’s 90s-influenced sound is the distorted goodness of opener Anyway In.  It’s a driving track with melodic guitar features that gives a clear taste of what is to come.

The record has a Foo Fighters flavour with solid distorted power chords, heavy drums and thumping bass.  There are moments of atmospheric bliss with melodic guitars and pretty vocal lines in tracks such as Ode, Complacent, Right from the Start and the blues-inspired No1.

Using pop-rock song-writing structures and tasteful musical features, the lyrics and stories shine through as evidenced in Chill Me and Say Right Now. Lovers of straight up, rock bangers will enjoy the tracks Remember, Arctic and Wildaknow.

Overall, this album strikes a great balance between heavy and laid-back, emotive and upbeat, grunge and shoegaze.  With a wonderful sense of space and natural sounding recording elements, Arctic creates a lovely listening atmosphere and lends itself to a true live sound.  There are some stand out musical moments of wailing fuzzy guitar solos, groovy bass licks, funky rock drumming and emotive pop/rock vocals. A must listen for all rock lovers.

Grab your copy of Elba Lane’s debut album Arctic via their website HERE. The band will launch Arctic at Vincent & Jules’ Cookies & Cream show alongside Sera, Fragile Animals and Dear Sol at The Zoo this Saturday night, 27 May. All event info HERE.

~~Music Is My Muse is a proud sponsor of the Cookies & Cream Series, a monthly show featuring emerging local artists~~

Elba Lane at Cookies and Cream